Denial or incorrect diagnosis

Options
gilliangull
gilliangull Member Posts: 4
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hello, this is my first time using a chat forum so I'm not sure of correct way to go about it so apologies if I'm posting to the wrong place but I really need some friendly advice.
About 5 months ago I suddenly started experiencing severe pain in my hands especially my left hand, I went from being totally pain free one week to in agony the next, the pain is always there but is worse first thing in a morning or when I'm holding something or my daughter tries to hold my hand, my hands also get very stiff again especially first thing in a morning, I initially put this down to the kind of work I was doing at the time and just took painkillers to try and ease the pain although they don't really help much!
Then 3 months ago I started to get niggly pains in my feet and now I find my feet are so painful all the time, again my left is worse than my right foot, when I first stand after sitting my feet are stiff and sore and I find myself hobbling around until the stiffness eases much to the amusement of my young daughter!
About three weeks ago I went to the Drs about all if this and I had lots of blood tests that came back clear and x rays on my hands that came back clear so the Dr said I had "probably got arthritis" and to come back when the pain got worse [emoji17]
I guess my question is I'm not convinced I have arthritis (I'm only 40) so would you guys go back to the Drs or does it sound like this is what I have? If it is what I have how bad does the pain have to get before you can be given treatment as traditional pain killers do nothing.
If you're still reading this ridiculously long message thank you [emoji177] and any advice is much needed and greatly appreciated xx

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options