Painful Injection

PaulW
PaulW Member Posts: 12
edited 4. Feb 2020, 12:06 in Living with arthritis
I've been using the Pens to inject Methotrexate for nearly 2 months now, but last week i used the pen and it felt like i'd stuck a larger deeper needle into my leg.

It was, to put it politely, bloody painful! No reason that i could see why it should be, new area of the leg ( ie not near another point i've used ) and it's still tender a week later.

There is no bruise ( but i never do bruise anyway ) but is it normal to sometimes get a painful pen use?

Thanks

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Yes it is. It's a shame we cannot see where all our little nerve endings are, sometimes I miss them altogether, other times it's nerve central. An ice cube can be rubbed over the area to be injected which helps to numb the skin - very occasionally I get a site reaction with a small swelling so I take a Piriton to ease it. You could well have some deep bruising which is why it is still tender. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • dreamdaisy
    Wish I remembered this earlier so I didn't have to log in again. :roll:

I don't know how you do your meth but I was advised to sit on the bed, legs up with a pillow under my knees to keep my thigh muscles relaxed. I always use my thighs for the meth and my stomach for the humira. DD
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,336
    I hope this experience won't put you off and am sure it will be fine next time Paul.

Fingers crossed for you.

s050.gif
  • Maturecheese
    Maturecheese Member Posts: 130
    I had a similar experience with my Benepali injection two weeks ago but it's been fine since. I guess it just happens occasionally but I did inject a little higher up my thigh so maybe it was that. Normally I inject the pen about 4 to 5 inches above my knee and it's generally OK there.
  • vikingqueen