New member with shoulder pain

Options
Sooze
Sooze Member Posts: 12
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:04 in Living with arthritis
Hello everyone, as you can see I'm a newbie. My name is Sooze and I'm in my 60's.

I recently had hip replacement surgery and I'm very pleased with the results, I have even lost a bit of weight because I can exercise properly now.

Now I'm finding I have dreadful pain in my shoulder, wrist and thumb joints. I know I must see my doctor but I wondered if any of you could give me any advice please.

I'll leave it there for now as I can't think of anything else to say.
Best wishes, Sooze xx :D

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,712
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Sooze and welcome. And sorry for the delayed reply....it's Christmas, the time when even the seasoned arthritics knacker themselves daily while promising to be more sensible tomorrow :roll:

I have RA and OA, hips and knees replaced very successfully. I'm very glad your op went well but sorry you now have problems elsewhere.

I guess you will realise that we can sympathise and empathise but not diagnose. It's not at all unusual for OA (I presume yours is OA?) to move on to pastures new and sometimes an operation can seem to encourage it. Maybe you're now doing so much more that you're making new demands on other joints.

I think, however, you need a proper diagnosis from your GP. If it is arthritis elsewhere then my next step would be to see a physio for exercises. It might seem odd to say that when I've just said you could be overdoing things but we usually overdo certain muscles etc and need others strengthening to counteract that.

Try to be sensible st Christmas. (Do as I say not as I do :lol: ) and maybe take steps now that will help you to deal with this afterwards. Good luck!
    t79122
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Options