On the top right of the Discussions home page you’ll see an avatar profile picture. Clicking on this will give you the following options
The 'Mark all viewed' option is the way to make all discussions lose the NEW indicator. Posts made after the time you clicked the Mark all Viewed option will still show a NEW marker. This can be very useful when first logging in or registering with the Community Forum since by default all posts will be NEW.