Ankolysing spondylosis and poly arthritis

Options
System
System Administrator Posts: 45
This discussion was created from comments split from: Readers Say Hi.

Comments

• Ange
    Ange Member Posts: 2
    edited 11. Apr 2020, 08:48
    Options

Hi. I'm another newbie here. 70 years old, first diagnosed with ankylosing spondylosis of the cervical spine at 34 with degenerative disc disease thrown in. From then ongoing 'visits' by poly arthritis continue to date. Mid/late 40s osteoarthritis diagnosed. First hip replacement at 54 which has since be redone. Second hip also now done (can't remember when (without looking it up) as cancer interrupted things 5 yrs ago..!) Many varied minor ops for pins and bone extractions here and there too...One way or another I have many reasons to be VERY thankful to the NHS for keeping me going. I had many years of anti-inflammatory meds in the early years which resulted in other medical problems. Now I try and deal with the pain with mindfulness meditations and a very occasional codydramol when I'm not successful with the meditation..! Most recent 'problem' is occasional vertigo (doc reckons is due to cervical problems) which is a real nuisance as the only 'useful' thing I do is ferrying folk around as a volunteer driver. Any ideas on how to defeat this latest visitor would be gratefully received. Sorry this is such an extended post... it's been a few years since I was 34..!!

• YvonneH
    YvonneH Member Posts: 1,076
    Options

Hi Ange,

Welcome to the forum, it’s great to get to chat to you. You seem to be managing your symptoms really well and keeping cheerful too which is fantastic and something lots of our readers new to an arthritis diagnosis need to see, thanks for posting about that