Lock down

Options
I am currently on 12 week compulsory lockdown ,I can't exercise a lot as I live in a 1 bedroom flat, I'm suffering constant leg pain and trouble sleeping what medication are people taking and any other advice would be appreciated thanks.

Comments

• Sharon_K
    Sharon_K Member Posts: 460
    Options

Hi Markabc

welcome to the forums it is lovely to have you here. Sorry to hear you are struggling with constant leg pain and having trouble sleeping, it can't be easy in a one bedroom flat. You might find some of the exercises on these pages helpful as they have been developed to help with managing pain. Do you usually get out and about when you are not in lockdown?

We also have a section on top tips to help with sleeping here

I also know our amazing members will share their experiences with you as they have some amazing ideas

Best Wishes

Sharon

• Lilymary
    Lilymary Member Posts: 1,742
    edited 23. Apr 2020, 10:26
    Options

Hi, I’m new to the realities of OA, and also have constant pain down my leg which keeps waking me up. My doc has prescribed cocodamol and Naproxen anti-inflammatory, with omeprazole to protect my stomach. They have offered stronger pain killers but the side effects of some of them are so awful I’d rather put up with some degree of pain. It does at least take the edge off the referred pain down my leg.

I’m trying to work out a balance of exercise to keep my muscles strong and flexible, and rest following a massive flare up caused by a fall and me hugely abusing my hip before I realised OA had wrecked my joints. This site has a good list of exercises you can do for OA in your hips (or whatever joints are affected). I did all of them on day 1 and regretted it 😅, so I’m trying to be a bit more sensible. Are you able to go for your allotted daily walk? It’s better than nothing, even if it’s just twice round the block.