OA in both hips at 28! No explanation

Options

Hi All,

I was diagnosed with OA in both hips (only MRI on left that came back moderatly severe) Due to emigrating to another country I cannot visit a doctor until my vis comes through next year and my doctor in the UK was pretty awful (surgeon not a rhumatologist) he basically said it is what it is and gave me no reason for BOTH my hips being knackered at such a young age. Iv always have crunchy knees and this is not making me worried I have it in my knees too. I work in construction and I am so scared I will have to stop working one day.

Anyone know how long you can go with severe arthritis and fend off a hip replacement? anyone have any guidance as to reasons behidn it?

Hope you are all well

Russ

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hi @rcnz Russ

Welcome to the Versus Arthritis Online Community from myself and the Moderating Tea.

I am sorry to hear about your diagnosis of Osteoarthritis at 28 and the unhelpful attitude of the surgeon you saw.

This is some information about hip Osteoarthritis:

I will leave our members to reply with their own experience.

Best wishes

Ellen

• YogaJones
    YogaJones Member Posts: 18
    Options

Hi Russ