Hi there!

Sunny
Sunny Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis
Hello-
I saw your site and know I will find tips on how you find relief of OA. Thought I would tell you My history and what helps me also. ... Some is through years of nursing. Some just cuz' I have a serious injury and OA pulse much soft tissue damage.
My father was a sportsman- running, baseball, golf, swimming. I can remember about age 10-12 him saying he needed to 'loosen up' before doing some diving..😳. I did not understand at that age. Mom not as athletic but much walking/golf. She also had OA as age does to most of us but not too bad. I was also extremely active/fit and participated in most sports. (I would shame the boys by climbing far highest in trees😁). The majority of sports was riding competitively dressage/cross country. I took racehorses off the track and retrained. I have no injury that caused long term damage from the horses. I was a nurse in 'units'- ICU, Cardio Thoracic Recovery, ER, High Risk Labor/Delivery. Obviously much lifting over the years and on my feet 12, maybe 16 hours at a time. Yes- my back hurt at days end but would be ok after a night sleep. Many years ago a 500 pound patient threw me against a wall, breaking C4,5,6. L5. Much soft tissue damage. At that time I had my first ever spine studies which shoes severe DDD and a spine of an 80 year old. I was 45 years old! I have had 3 surgeries over 20 years. First one saved my life. I am very reserved about 'this will fix ya up' surgery attitude. My work changed as I am very limited in what I can lift and hours on my feet now. Only worked very limited part time after that. I am now in mid 60's and retired.
Ok....now...