Arthritis and worried about my job.

Hello everyone,
I am so glad I have found this forum. I will try and keep my “story” short and sweet but I am after some reassurance or maybe I need a more realistic outlook.

I am currently being treated for what GP believes is Psoriatic Arthritis. I have suffered with Psoriasis and very mild back pain for years but never thought much of it. However, I have just had a 1 week bad flare up of severe lower back and hip pain. I’m 27 and unfortunately just been through a stressful break-up which I feel is why this has struck worse at the moment.

I am on Celecoxib which seems to be working, or the flare up has naturally subsided.

My main concern is my job, I am a Police Officer and everything I read says how debilitating the condition can be. Is there anybody else that has an active job that has been able to manage?
I love my job and couldn’t think of anything worse than not being able to continue something I love so much.

Thanks in advance.
Nicole

Comments

• AlanM
    AlanM Member Posts: 46

Hi @Nicolejackson9395

and welcome to the forum. It's good to have you here.

You have a possible diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis, experience back pain but have had a recent flare up (with severe lower back and hip pain), which has left you worried about the possible implications for your job.

Firstly, it's important to recognise that the issues you're facing are shared by many people, including people on this forum, whether they are police officers, paramedics, teachers, shop workers or even sportspeople.

There are great information resources on our website, which are worth having a look at.

Understanding your condition will not only help you manage it but will help in any of those conversations you may need to have with colleagues to ensure that they can give you the support you need when you need it.