Hi

Nannyf
Nannyf Member Posts: 1
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis

Hi there, I’m Fiona, 49, live in Scotland. I work as a nanny looking after 3 young children.

I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my thumbs a few years ago and tried a lot of different medications before being referred to a consultant for cortisone injections. These work for around 4-6 months. Unfortunately I am now well overdue because of the situation we are currently in and I’m struggling. The pain is now affecting my whole hands. I also now have confirmed OA in my left shoulder and in recent months my right shoulder has started becoming painful also. Most days my whole body aches and I’m just constantly in pain and feeling really down.

I constantly put on a happy face so others don’t know how bad it is, so I’m looking forward to chatting with others who know how this feels.

Comments

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992

I don't bother with a happy face, I tell people that I am only happy when I am miserable! 😁 Seriously though with widespread OA in virtually every joint I know how it feels to be in constant pain despite taking relatively large doses of morphine and a lot of people on here are the same. Pain meds don't get rid of the pain, they merely knock the edges off and the primary way of combating it is to find something that you like doing - and can do - to try to distract yourself from the pain. There are loads of nice people on here and a fair few nutters too so jump in and chat away.

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,622

Just a quick post to you @Nannyf

Have you checked in to see whether your hospital is back doing the cortisone injections yet? It has to be worth a try a lot of them are starting to do elective procedures again.

I can imagine it is not much fun at all trying to look after 3 children as a job when you are in pain. It's not the same as being in your own home looking after your own children and being in pain.

Best wishes

Ellen

• Lilymary