Osteoarthritis in both feet

Options
Soccercrazy
Soccercrazy Member Posts: 8
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:05 in Living with arthritis

Hi

I'm a newbie. I have had Osteoarthritis in both feet since 2008 but only just in the last few months had it confirmed. The pain has been manageable with the help of meds, but lately it has not been very effective. I have been to the Pain Management Clinic and am currently trying new medication. 2 weeks ago my feet started hurting more than I can ever remember, the pain is excruciating, it mainly kicks off at night stopping my sleeping. Over the first 5 days when this first kicked off I had 1 and a half hours sleep (total) I have had x rays on both feet, acupuncture,homeopathy and osteopath. None have done a thing.I am at my wits end, over the last 2 weeks I have hardly slept and I mean about 10-12 hours sleep in total.I am very emotional,tired and in excruciating pain mainly at night but at times during the day.

That's my story in a nut shell.

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hi @Soccercrazy

Welcome to the Versus Arthritis Online Community.

I see you have just had Osteoarthritis confirmed in both feet and it is really affecting your sleep. I totally understand and sympathise with you it is so hard to cope with days when you are exhausted.

You don't say what your new medication is so I'm not sure if its one which might take a while to build up in your system and work.

I attach a link on the subject which may be of interest:

It might be worth your while posting in 'Living with Arthritis' as more members are likely to see it over there.

Best wishes

Ellen

• Mike1
    Mike1 Member Posts: 1,992
    Options

Ask your GP for a referral to a Podiatrist, failing that go onto your Health Authorities website as some areas allow self-referral.

• Soccercrazy
    Options

Thanks Ellen and Mike.