Hello. Methotrexate decision.

Options
Dazzler13
Dazzler13 Member Posts: 3
edited 12. Jan 2021, 12:26 in Living with arthritis

Thought I'd say hello.

I'm having lots of back pain (most of spine, sacroiliac and hip) which I think is undiagnosed Ankylosing Spondylitis (my notes say Sacroillitis). I have a diagnosis of Psoriatic Arthritis which I've been managing for 18 years with very little medication and I'm sure there is an overlap with these conditions. I'm booked for spine MRI this month to confirm/deny AS.

I'm at the point where I'm considering whether to start Methotrexate or not. I've avoided it for this long but I'm sort of at my limit. I'm 47 now and have a 3-year-old, a wife, and a full-time job, and my ability to cope due to pain is now a real problem.

I'm posting as I've read about some of the biologics which sound promising, and my consultants say that the first approach is using Methotrexate (same thing they've said for 18 years). Is that always the case? My consultant has said she would rather not start me on Methotrexate currently due to CV19 which I understand.

I also have to take blood thinners which mean I can't use NSAIDs as I can't risk a stomach ulcer (had one of those before due to Vioxx), which leaves me with 2mg Paracetamol a day to fight Psoriatic Arthritis/Ankylosing Spondylitis (sort of like bringing a knife to a gun fight?).

I'm not sure what my approach should be?

DB

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hello to you too @Dazzler13

I am very pleased to meet you and welcome you to the Community. We have a fair few members who have Psoriatic Arthritis and more who take methotrexate so you should get plenty of support.

I see you are awaiting confirmation or otherwise of Ankylosing Spondylitis too via MRI very soon.