Painful Hands

Options
Wendas1960
Wendas1960 Member Posts: 7
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:06 in Living with arthritis

Hi

I'm a bit nervous as I've never used a forum before. My name is Wendy and I have osteoarthritis in various joints although my hands seem to be worst. I was advised to keep moving and do a lot of knitting to keep my fingers supple, however my hands seem more painful at the moment. Am I doing the wrong thing

Comments

• Jona
    Jona Member Posts: 406
    Options

Hi Wendas1960:

I have it in my hands I use stress balls and use hot water and cold I just put them in alternate it helps with the swelling I use wrist and thumb splints too you can get them off the internet or from physio I also knit too I’m a little slower now but keep them moving but do as much as the pain allows don’t overdo things

welcome btw keep sharing and the lovely people here will give you valuable advice

take care

love Jona 😊💪

• Wendas1960
    Options

Thank you Jona

I've been reasonably OK until the last couple of weeks and all the Dr seems to say is I'll give you some Codeine and Piroxicam. I don't have swelling although it sounds strange but sometimes when I try to make it feels like they are swollen. I have a left hand split I use when I need it as the left is sometimes worse being my dominant hand.

Wendy

• Jona
    Options

Hi again Wendas1960,

its a bit rubbish I know but funny enough I’ve been using my rolling pin ( not for baking, I’m a rubbish cook) but I roll my hands fingers to wrist it just keeps my hands functioning but I stop when it starts hurting

Sending people on their way with just pills isn’t always the best thing but it’s what they do I’m afraid there’s no magic pill I used to think drs could do anything but I’ve had a hard lesson they’re just like us and don’t have all the answers some are rude too but it’s great your here and your sharing keep strong your not on your own

love Jona x

• Wendas1960
    Options

Hi again