Very worried about finances and home

Hi everyone. I'm new here so please forgive my ramblings. After living with Psoriatic and Osteo arthritis for several years I suffered a flare up last April that lasted around 10 weeks. Since the flare up passed, the arthritis has worsened and last December my hips joined in. So much so that I can't walk further than 20 metres.

Before lockdown I was a driving instructor for 15 years but I now I can't even drive.

About 4 months ago I decided to go for the advanced rate of PIP because I'm very worried about finances and the thought of losing my home. Last week I received a decision from DWP saying that not only will I not be getting the advanced rate, but they were stopping my lower rate as well. As you know, that was devastating news and I've since appealed.

In truth, the furlough has kept me financially afloat and I'm trying desperately to find work from home. When the furlough ends, unless I get work from home, I'll lose my home. I've also reapplied for a reduction in the council tax. I was refused that several months ago.

Has anyone else been, or is living with the same predicament as me? If so, if you'd like to talk, I'm here. And if anyone can offer me any helpful tips, that would be great too.

Many thanks

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 947

Hello @Dan70 and welcome to the online community,

Since lockdown you have been unable to work due to worsening of your arthritis and your PIP has been stopped. Understandably, you are very worried about finances and your home.

Many members have had similar experiences to you and I’m sure they will be keen to share their experiences and tips. There are also several information pages on the Versus Arthritis website that provide you with some useful suggestions. I’ve linked to one below that talks about the various benefits you can claim if you are finding it difficult to work due to arthritis: