Hi

janet18
janet18 Member Posts: 2

Hi, I'm Janet. I have been living with arthritis for several years and have recently been diagnosed with having a trapped nerve due to arthritis. I am struggling to carry on with my normal life and become more reclusive due to not being able to socialise because of pain. I want to remain positive and help as much as possible. Are there any local meet up groups etc? I live in Wigan/At Helens area. I would love to chat and make friends xx

Comments

  • Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 604
    edited 3. Jun 2021, 14:34

    Hi @janet18 and welcome to the online community,

    It can be so hard to motivate yourself to socialise when you are restricted by pain such as you have with arthritis and a trapped nerve, but you have made a great first step by joining the online forum. Everyone on here is friendly and supportive and you can always find a conversation to join in, or start one yourself. There are several different forums, and members chat on all sorts of subjects, from gardening to recipes as well as supporting each other through daily challenges. Do have a scroll through the list, and join in whenever you feel comfortable.Online communities such as this one are a good first step to building back up your social skills.

    Versus Arthritis also organises local groups in the community where you can find information, support and a chance to meet other people. Just click on the link below, type in your town or area in the search bar and you’ll find a list of groups local to you.

    Alternatively, you could email the North West Service co-ordinator at  [email protected] who will be able to let you know of activities and groups in your area.

    It seems like a big step to take when you venture into something new but rest assured you will be welcomed by the Versus Arthritis community wherever you join in.

    Do let us know how you get on.

    Anna ( Mod)

Who's Online

3
Byron
Byron
frogmorton
frogmorton
+1 Guest