New to Versus Arthritis, Welcome your input

Options

Hello, I am a newbie to this site.

I suspect I have had arthritis for a couple of years, in my left arm. It was severely fractured and successfully operated on about 25 years ago. After a year's physiotherapy, I regained almost all use of it. But recently, I've gradually come to feel reduced mobility, stiffness, and some pain. I will have to learn to manage it.

But it is nothing like the sharp pain at a specific point at the bottom of my left ankle whenever I walk, which emerged two months ago. To start with, I rested it, assuming it was a sprain. Then last month I got an x-ray which showed no bone abnormality. When the pain didn't subside, but if anything got worse, at times radiating up to my knee and leading me to collapse with weakness, I went to A&E. They did x-rays, again no abnormality. I asked if it might be a sprain. NO. An aneurysm? No. The doctor concluded it was probably arthritis because I fractured a bone on the left side of my foot about 20 years ago. I was told to walk on it rather than rest it and I will be referred to a rheumatologist, when I don't know.

I've been googling 'arthritis' to learn more about it. It doesn't seem to match the experience of my ankle, or my foot x-ray with an x-ray of arthritic joint.

But at least I found this site and can learn from you, who have learned from experience and medical attention. I feel desperate. Rest or walk with a lot of pain? I can barely hobble to the corner shop. Or take painkillers which may not work and may disguise the pain, which is a red flag, and make my ankle worse? I've asked for an MRI scan, which would be informative. I think the NHS are reluctant because or the expense. Help!!

Thank you so much for any response and best wishes to all coping with this disabling condition.

Comments

• Shell_H
    Shell_H Member Posts: 548
    Options

Hi @Rosie9876 - Welcome to the online community!