Side effects of Methotrexate

Options
Alisondoug
Alisondoug Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:07 in Living with arthritis

Hi I'm new to this and just wanted to see if any body else is experiencing what I am.

I had a double partial knee replacement last year and just wasnt getting better. I was eventually then diagnosed with RA in the other side of my knees and started on methotrexate.

I am having lots of side effects, feeling sick, diarrhea, anxiety, not sleeping and just feel awful. I am on week 9 and am feeling no relief. I have lost over 2 stone in weight.

I also now have really sore shoulders and pain on my head constantly and during the night my hands totally cease up.

They are changing me onto injections to see if that helps but I just want to know if anyone else has experienced this and not getting any results for it.

Comments

• Eviealice69
    Eviealice69 Member Posts: 13
    Options

I’m sorry to hear that you are suffering. It must be very difficult for you.

I have RA in both knees following nearly 30yrs without a flare up! I am due to see the consultant at the end of November and I am concerned that I will need Methotrexate or a similar immunosuppressant. The side effects listed sound horrendous! I wonder if everyone is affected?

i hope you are feeling better very soon. Best wishes.

• Brynmor
    Brynmor Member Posts: 1,755
    Options

Hi @Alisondoug welcome to the Online Community, great to have you here.

I understand that after a double partial knee replacement last year you have been diagnosed with RA in the other side of my knees and started on methotrexate. This is having some side effects and you are now changing to injections.

Methotrexate is a type of disease-modifying anti-rheumatic drug (DMARD) which can indeed have side-effects. Like all such drugs, these can be quite unpleasant and you may find that injections are a better alternative for you.