What are the main differences between rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis

Options

What are the main differences between rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis I am confused is osteoarthritis an inflammatory disease or not and are the flare ups the same as osteoarthritis or not thank you for any advice

Comments

• DorothyParker
    Options

Hi. I'm by no means an expert but I have both inflammatory and osteo arthritis and they act quite differently. I suppose the main difference is the cause. Osteoarthritis is caused by degeneration of the joint through use or injury, which can cause inflammation; rheumatoid arthritis is a systemic disease in which the immune system mistakenly attacks healthy tissue, causing inflammationwhich can then erode the joint. But it can affect any part of the body - the skin, eyes, lungs.

So osteoarthritis isn't considered an inflammatory arthritis, which is a term usually used to cover the autoimmune type, but that doesn't mean you don't get inflammation along with it.

Everyone is different but my osteoarthritis flares up and sometimes seems to settle down, but the arthritis is always there. I suppose it's mostly linked to activity and other aggravating factors. But it only really affects the joint, whereas a flare-up of my inflammatory arthritis can make me feel generally unwell, fatigued, low, stiff all over.

You'll find better advice from experts but some of the other main differences are that RA tends to be symmetrical; worse with rest; and worse in the morning. Osteoarthritis tends to be asymmetrical and made worse with activity.

Do you have both? Or are you trying to work it out?

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,424
    Options