No where to turn for help

Options

Hi, I’m a newbie

i was diagnosed with OA 6 years ago, but had it long before. It started in my ankle and at time of diagnosis it was in my wrist and left knee. I also have DDD and fibromyalgia. I have been on several different pain killers, none of which help. I feel it’s now in both knees, my right hip and fingers too. My GP is very unapproachable and makes me feel like I’m a nuisance or making it all up, so I stopped going, haven’t been to GP almost 2 years, no pain killers (co-codemol) since January. Like most, pain has intensified since cold moved in and though I have splints, heat pads etc, nothing easing. How can I get professional help without feeling I’m wasting my Drs time?

Comments

• Shell_H
    Shell_H Member Posts: 548
    Options

Hi @TracyA - welcome to the online community!

I see you've been diagnosed with Osteoarthritis for a few years now, but you feel like your doctor is unapproachable and unhelpful despite the fact that it seems to be more joints now and the pain is getting worse.

My first thought would be to ask to see a different GP. This is very easy to do in your surgery - just state you want to see a different doctor when you make your appointment. It does not have to be with the same one. You can also ask for a referral to both a pain clinic and a physio from your doctors, both of whom should be able to help you.

We also have some advice you can follow at home with pain. There's some useful information (I hope!) on this post from me earlier today. I have Osteoarthritis as well, and I've found that exercise and stretching can help me - sadly not immediately, but if I do it regularly (sometimes that's a big if) I do notice the difference and find moving easier.

There's quite a lot of discussion on different ways to help with pain relief on this thread which I have also found helpful myself. Some other information we have from Versus Arthritis which might help: