Newby

Shell27
Shell27 Member Posts: 4
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:07 in Living with arthritis

Hi all I’m new to this so I don’t know what to expect I have been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis And fibromyalgia.All of this came as a shock to me as I have been very fit and worked for the last past 40 years in health and social care looking after others but due to having vaccinations I have had swollen joints which I have been told was inflammation and my immune system was over working itself I am now on medication methotrexate and steroids have been for the last couple of months don’t know what the outcome is going to be but was shocked to be told that I now have a disability and I find it very hard to take in and cope with.I struggle a lot with pains in my knees and find it very hard to climb stairs and get very out of breath sweating at night unable to sleep and today I found it very hard because I forgot how to make myself a cup of tea which brought tears to my eyes I don’t know if it’s the medication that’s making me feel like this but I am struggling. I don’t know who to talk to so any advice would be appreciated thank you.

Comments

• Shell_H
    Shell_H Member Posts: 548

Hi @Shell27 - welcome to the online community!

I see you have been newly diagnosed with both Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia following on from your vaccinations. It's been a huge shock to you, and you have been struggling particular with pain in your knees - which is making it hard to climb stairs - and with memory loss. You've also been struggling with being able to go to sleep. You have been put on Methotrexate and Steroids to help.

I know that everything can be hugely overwhelming when you've just been given a new diagnosis. I have provided links to general information about both Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia below, and if you read them a bit at a time then it could help you to be able to understand what you have been diagnosed with. Try not to let it overwhelm you.