New Fibromyalgia Diagnosis

alleyjayne80
alleyjayne80 Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:08 in Living with arthritis

Hi all this is my first time posting.

I am 41, married with 3 children aged 17, 14 and 12.

7yrs ago I started feeling exhausted ALL the time and getting pins and needles in my hands a lot. Dr told me I was depressed and prescribed fluoxetine but it didn’t do anything other than make me feel mental 🙄 over the next few years I developed other symptoms, stiffness in my hands. Pain in my wrists, widespread pain in my chest, arms and legs and sometimes my face. Burning, tingling feeling in some areas. I’ve become clumsy, tripping over, forgetful, zombie like and can’t concentrate, pain in my collarbone shoulders and back of my head. Can’t sleep and wake up feeling like I’ve been ran over by a train.

things got worse during lockdown but I’ve not been able to see a GP yet. I had some nerve tests done on ny hands and was told I had carpal tunnel I waited 11m for injections and they haven’t helped so now saying it’s not that. Waited 14m for a neurologist appointment, I was in the room for less than 5 mins she asked me a few questions and said there was nothing neurologically wrong with me and told me to go back to my GP who then said she thought it could be fibromyalgia. I’ve had several blood tests to look for various things, to rule out arthritis, menopause and other things all come back clear. Over the last 2 yrs I’ve tried amitriptyline and pregabalin And codeine nothing works. I’ve been told by GP there is nothing that will help me. I’ve self referred to physio but the waiting list is 9 months and the pain management wait is 2yrs at least. I’m currently only taking ibuprofen and codeine at night but tbh it’s not touching the pain.

I don’t know what to do, I’m not functioning day to day, I spent my time in bed or on the sofa, I just feel useless. I’ve put so much weight on, I was always really slim and reasonably fit now I can barely move.