Hi - newbie here

Options
jo947
jo947 Member Posts: 3
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:08 in Living with arthritis

Hi all!

I'm new to this community and really wanted to join because I'm keen to find out how you deal with pain and emotions and relationships!

I've been on my arthritis journey for a couple of years now - I've got Psoriatic arhtitis which started with a swollen and painful right knee but has now moved into my elbows, wrists, thumbs, other knee, and one ankle.

I have very little movement in my right knee which is stuck in a bent position making walking any distance difficult. I've tried a few treatments, methotrexate, Leflunomide and I've now been on Imraldi injections since January but nothing so far is helping.

By far the worst thing about all of this is that I miss my life - I used to live life to the max. I was in the gym every morning doing Cross Fit, went to festivals and gigs, was slim, healthy and fun. I feel like I've completely lost a purpose in life. My husband is lovely but acts like I'm made of glass and all anyone else speaks to me about is my knee. I feel I have nothing to contribute to conversations because I don't do anything interesting.

So I guess I'd like to know what do you do to stay active, or what hobbies you can still enjoy and how do you stop arthritis taking over your whole life!

JO😀

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 968
    edited 25. Apr 2022, 15:06
    Options

Hi @jo947 and welcome to the online community,

You've been on your arthritis journey for two years and it's affecting many of your joints, including your knee which makes walking difficult. Understandably you miss your old life, which certainly sounds full on. So you've come here to find out from others about life, emotions, relationships and everything else. Well you've certainly come to the right place! Our members are all friendly, and keen to share their experiences of living with arthritis.