Leg Muscle Strengthening - Physio recommends exercise bike

I had a telephone discussion with a rheumatology physio a few weeks back about helping my leg muscles. I'm back to walking good distances with my dog but I do so with a pronounced limp. The upshot of that is my left calf and thigh muscles are significantly smaller than my right - about 2cms for my calf diameter. He recommended I try an exercise bike due to it's low joint impact. To be honest I tried one many years ago and found it the most boring thing in the world. I've had a look into what's on offer these days and wondered about a recliner exercise bike - at least I could be doing other things - like watching TV or using my laptop - without falling over when doing the exercises. The other thought I had was a step through electric bike that I could use on the canal and cycle paths locally. I used to cycle about 150kms a week but haven't done so for about 10-15 years so I'm no novice cyclist.

I just wondered if anyone has any experience of either of these they could give me. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697

Obviously, not me, @jamieA , but, I''ve mentioned a few times on here that Mr SW bought an exercise bike before his THRs once golf and long walks were out.

He hated every minute too but, to his credit, built up to three 20 min sessions daily. He endured it by watching YouTube videos on his mobile phone with it propped up on the handlebars. (Yes Minister seemed to feature a lot.) He hasn't been near it since.

A friend bought an electric bike once he hit his mid-80s to keep up with his younger wife. He loved it.

There is someone on here who has/had a recumbent bike. I can't remember who. Having watched many of these over the years on Venice Beach, I'd say try before you buy. They look to me as if they might stretch some bits of us a bit more than they were willing.