Am I taking the right supplements?

Options
Bamboo
Bamboo Member Posts: 3
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:09 in Living with arthritis

Hello all, this is my first time on the forum. I broke both of my wrists many years ago (about twenty) and was advised to take certain over the counter pain relief by a health food shop. They did the trick for many years but now I have developed pain in my shoulders and fingers which is getting rapidly worse. I currently take Glucosamine, MSM, Calcium Magnesium & Zinc, Turmeric and Cod Liver Oil at a dosage of one tablet each per day. I would appreciate any advice as to whether these are still the correct supplements and if I should be doing anything different. Thankyou.

Comments

• PeterJ
    PeterJ Administrator Posts: 883
    Options

Hello @Bamboo and welcome to the community. We are a friendly and supportive group and I hope that that will be your experience as well.

I understand that you have pain in your shoulders and fingers. Have you consulted a GP or consultant to determine the cause and mediation? Our website contains a lot of useful information about arthritis, treatments and hints and tips and I would recommend having a look around it. To help I've put a couple of links in below which may be of interest.

Please do keep posting and let us know how you are getting on and I am sure that others will connect with you to share their thoughts and experiences as well.

With very best wishes

Peter

Need more help? - call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Bamboo
    Bamboo Member Posts: 3
    Options

Thankyou for replying so quickly. I will certainly check out these links.

I haven't seen a doctor as I prefer to avoid prescribed meds.

• Hbutterfly
    Hbutterfly Member Posts: 9
    Options