Covid, methotrexate, psa flare up

Options

Hi, I'm still relatively new to Psa so just wanting some other experiences really.

As I said I'm recently diagnosed and last week I started on methotrexate. I took my first dose on Monday and I tested positive for covid the following Sunday.

I've avoided covid up until now but the aches and pains I'm experiencing feels like one of my worst ever Psa flare ups.

Just wondering if anyone else experienced this and if you think it's the covid or the Psa causing it or maybe the covid exacerbated a flare ?

Thanks

Comments

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,426
    Options

Hi @Caroline15

Sorry to hear you have COVID such bad luck.

i don't have PsA, but still inflammatory arthritis so similar treatment.

Quite a few on here have reported that their COVID jabs have started off a flare so it makes sense to me that having COVID may well make our joints flare up.

Take a look at this thread from earlier this year.

and get well soon.

NB I suggest you check in with your rheumatology team about taking your MTX this week.

Toni x

• Caroline15
    Caroline15 Member Posts: 15
    Options

Hi,

I will certainly have a read of this information and thank you for the tip about the Methotrexate, I have been told to skip this week's dose.

Thanks Caroline

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,714
    Options

I send my very best wishes. Either arthritis or covid are enough to deal with. Both together just sucks. Be very gentle on yourself. Don't try to push recovery.

If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • jamieA
    jamieA Member Posts: 711
    Options

Hi @Caroline15