A young adult "newly diagnosed with knee osteoarthritis"

Options
Dove23!
Dove23! Member Posts: 6
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:09 in Living with arthritis

Hi all,

I was recently diagnosed with early knees osteoarthritis. I am a 36 old teacher and a mother of 2 kids. The pain can be managed with painkillers so far, yet I can't deal with the fact that I will always be in pain. The fact that it will worsen over time is killing me. I am a person who enjoys deep cleaning, organizing, and doing the dishes! Taking the stairs now is my new nightmare! Any advice? I keep getting nightmares that I will hit the late stages very soon and won't be able to take care of my family or lose my job 💔? Thank you.

Comments

• chrisb
    chrisb Moderator Posts: 682
    Options

Hi @mlabib221  

Welcome to the versus arthritis forum. 

You are recently diagnosed with OA and are understandably finding it difficult to accept that the pain may well be long-term. You’d like to hear from any forum members who can offer you their advice. 

Well, you’ve definitively come to the right place to ask the question. Whilst you await some feedback you may find these links to articles on our website of relevance: 

In addition, on Living with arthritis we have posts from many members who live with arthritis, I'm sure you will be able to find some other discussions you may wish to join in on or alternatively start a new one. 

Best Wishes

ChrisB (Moderator)

Need more help - call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,429
    edited 4. Nov 2022, 07:52
    Options

Hi @mlabib221

To be honest many of us here started with our Arthritis as young as you and although some of us are now a fair bit older we have done alright.

If your Arthritis is Osteoarthritis surgery might be an option much later on. Obviously not now of course.