Newby on a Big Learning Curve

Options
sw8689
sw8689 Member Posts: 6
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:10 in Living with arthritis

Hi, thank you for accepting me into your forum. I have most recently been diagnosed with Psa and started on low dose methotrexate. A little history, I have multiple sclerosis, it started 20 years ago, with almost immediate diagnosis. Autoimmune diseases are known to piggyback on one and other so I expect that my Psa is doing just that. When I was diagnosed with MS, I studied everything I could about the disease and medications and had the best clinic in North America taking care of me. Almost 18 years ago after a brutal three months of mitroxantrone (chemotherapy) for my ms I became stable and have been ever since. When the arthritis started, my regular doctor thought I had degenerative disc disease in my spine and neck and after a fall I had two fusions, low back and neck. Then my joints started hurting and swelling, so I was referred to a rheumatologist. The first rheumatologist diagnosed me with inflammatory osteoarthritis, no treatment to slow progression only anti inflammatory therapy. Over 3-4 years my hands crippled up and became very painful, because my son has psoriasis I wondered about psoriatic arthritis, but was shut down pretty fast because I didn’t have any active rashes. Because this rheumatologist was a fair distance away I was able to change to one closer who took one look at my hands and nails and other joints and sent me for an mri and other exams and tests, the outcome was the diagnosis of Psa. Thankfully there is treatment! And thankfully I found this site to learn from everyone’s experiences! So far methotrexate isn’t going well for me. Only had one dose, and I’m just not up to being so sick for three days a week for a drug that doesn’t prevent joint damage. I can only take certain DMARDs because of MS, so I’m going to ask for Otezla at my next appointment as I have been reading for days and this one seems most promising for