Hello! Am I Right to be Concerned?

Options
QuieroQueso
QuieroQueso Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:10 in Living with arthritis

Hi there and thank you to all for being here.

I am 34 and have had issues with my lower back and my knees for a long time. I am having an MRI scan of the lumbar spine in a couple of weeks time to investigate worsening back pain. In the last few months I have been struggling a lot with my knees and also experiencing joint pain in my fingers, wrists, elbow and shoulders. I am a full time student so spend a lot of time sitting down studying but I also work part time in a job which involves prolonged periods of standing as well as some quite heavy lifting.

The joint pains as well as a general feeling of being unwell are bad first thing in the morning but tend to wear off one I get up and moving about. They they tend to be moderately painful at points during the day. At the end of the day I rest and chill out in front of a movie or with a book and the pain seems to be a little better although I get random shooting pains every 15-20 minutes or so. When I try to get up or move about, however, I am in complete agony and I can barely stand sometimes. I end up shuffling around the house and crying out in pain as I am trying to move from the sofa to go to make a drink or get ready for bed. Often I find myself out of breath because of the pain and the effort to get around.

I have done a lot of research and I think I have a lot of signs of arthritis. I am going to see my GP to discuss the pain but I am worried that my issues will be dismissed because of my age and the fact that I am statistically quite young for such a diagnosis. Does anyone think that I have a case to put forward in seeking a diagnosis of arthritis??

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Anna
    Anna Moderator Posts: 978
    Options

Hello @QuieroQueso and welcome to the online community,