Struggling in work & Mentally.

Options

I'm a Dangerous goods driver for a living, 40 years of age and was diagnosed with osteoarthritis at 30 years of age! I've served in the military and wondered initially if that had any bearing on how I came to get it so young?..

I'm really struggling with work and have found myself job hopping because of the pain in work; and at the same time trying to avoid limping so co workers do not notice my condition. I've always been a fit,healthy strong guy (still am) but this has sucked the motivation out of me lately...I've recently been to see my consultant in Bristol and am now on the list for a left hip replacement next year -early next year he tells me (we'll see) I just don't think I can manage within my job anymore, I earn a good wage but I may have to take a step back until this is sorted and look at benefits to get by, I've no idea what I'll be entitled to, I have a nice flat on the housing association for ex Vets so I know I'll atleast get universal credit to cover that but I'll not get anywhere near what I'm earning now! It's a worry but the pain is frustrating me and my mood in work at times isn't great because of it...I don't know what to do, I've only been in my new job 2 weeks, but this has been a bad pattern this year because of the pain there.

Comments

• noddingtonpete
    noddingtonpete Moderator Posts: 1,015
    Options

Hello @JonnyBravo and welcome to the Community. We are a friendly and supportive group and I hope that will be your experience as well.

I understand that you have osteoarthritis and looking to have a hip replacement next year, and that you are looking at options around work. Have a look at the following from our website to see if it helps.

and

Please keep posting and let us know how you are getting on and I am sure others will share their support and experiences with you.

With very best wishes,

Peter (moderator)

Need more help? - call our Helpline on0800 5200 520Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm