Newbie - How to help my husband?

Options
1980sLulu
1980sLulu Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:11 in Living with arthritis

Hello,

I'm brand new to Versus and brand new to the arthritic world!

My lovely, only-just-turned 40 is recently diagnosed with osteo arthritis. It's worse in his left knee, but also has it in his right knee and bow we think also his left hip.

He is miserable and in constant pain.

How do I help and support him and what questions should we asking the docs next?

he has had an arthroscopy on his left knee and is under physio for that. We're waiting for physio for the right knee. Just had an xray for the left hip.

He crawls up the stairs after a day at work. He doesn't sleep properly because if the pain. He's missed family days out because he can't walk far. He's had to give up playing rugby which was his passion!

Just want to help and no idea how! Supplements? Alternative therapies? Diet? I'll read it all! Please share what's working for you and links etc.

Thanks xx

Comments

• Louisa77
    Louisa77 Administrator Posts: 252
    Options

Hi @1980sLulu

Welcome to our online community - sorry to hear how osteoarthritis is affecting your husband it sounds tough for him and for you.

I thought I'd share with you some info from our website which I hope will help:-

Osteoarthritis (OA) | Causes, symptoms, treatments (versusarthritis.org)

Painkillers and NSAIDs | Side-effects, uses, time to work (versusarthritis.org)

Complementary and alternative treatments | Types and safety (versusarthritis.org)

Carers | Advice and support | Versus Arthritis

Do give our helpine a call too and they could discuss some of the possibilities as OA is mainly about self management and NSAIDS.

To keep posting your not alone and I'm sure other members will come along and provide you with support.

Louisa (moderator)

Need more help? Call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• jonr
    jonr Member Posts: 398
    Options