Newbie here

Options
Suewas
Suewas Member Posts: 2
edited 28. Nov 2023, 14:11 in Living with arthritis

Hi. I am 54 and have recently been diagnosed with arthritis in both knees and an inflamed hip. I have been suffering with pain in my knees for many years and was told the cartilage was wearing out and there was nothing I could do apart from physio. This didn't work for me and I gave up. This last year, I have been suffering more and more to the point where my hip and knee just gives way and I end up in a heap on the floor. I was assigned a new physio who diagnosed arthritis. I am now being referred for MRI scans as I am still very painful. I can't take painkillers as I am sensitive to many medicines and they would not work alongside my other medications. I was given a gel but it's useless.... I have a telephone consultation with another physio tomorrow to discuss what can be done..

Comments

• Cath100
    Cath100 Moderator Posts: 40
    edited 26. Sep 2023, 13:05
    Options

Hi @Suewas welcome to the online community,

Am so sorry to hear that you haven't had a lot of support with your arthritis, it sounds like you have tried to get this! And welcome to the online community, hopefully there will be some suggestions as to what you may be able to ask your GPs for from others online and you will find that we are a friendly supportive community.

If you have already had a referral to a physiotherapist and been given exercises it sounds like perhaps there could be other things that could be offered, if it is weakness perhaps you could ask about whether knee braces could help and also if appropriate some people find that capsaicin cream or steroid injections can help with pain if you have tried other things- ask GP if these may be suitable.

You can also find out more here about what could help with hip pain What helps hip pain? | Versus Arthritis