Hip replacement, work and money

Options

Hi everyone,

I have just been assessed for a hip replacement due to severe osteoarthritis. I also have fibromyalgia, anxiety and depression, (plus others) and OA in both my knees and hips. I have had a long battle with my GP to get to this point - they kept telling me nothing was wrong and finally they told me it was lumbago and sciatica. I had a fall in October last year, fell on my knee and face but I couldn't get an xray, they just kept saying you'll have to learn to live with the pain. I don't feel I've had any support from my GP as yet and many times I don't go because I fear they think I'm a hypocondriac. I know my consultant has just sent the letter about my assessment to the GP surgery but I don't think anything will progress from that side of it.

I work part time in retail (20 hours) but I'm on my feet for the full 4 hours plus with the buses it adds up to 7 hours on my feet. I've been told 6-8 months for a full hip replacement - where do I start to either move onto ESA (if appropriate). I cannot retire medically as I don't have any pensions - I am 62 yrs of age.

Does anyone out there have any advice for me please. I walk with a stick, I struggle to put my socks on, get in my son's car, tie shoelaces and I havent been able to get in a bath for around 8 yrs or more (yes I do shower daily in case you're wondering). I do get PIP but only the Daily Living Component part of it. I have been refused the Mobility component but yet as I'm sure you all know, mobility is very much affected. Its such a stupid form - what has my hip replacement got to do with folliwing a journey, it doesn't make sense.

I am sorry for the long post but I am in such a quandry over all this, it's stressing me out.

TIA Marge

Comments

• Loggiemod
    Loggiemod Member Posts: 222
    Options