advice on managing medication issues

Options

I am newly diagnosed and have a prescription for methotrexate and hydroxychloroquine but i am a bit bothered about the instructions about avoiding sunlight. I am outside literally every opportunity there is ( i am a landscape and wildlife photographer when my hands work well enough) but i also struggle hugely with sunblocks giving me skin reactions. I have never actually found one i could wear every single day. If i am out in the height of summer i wear a sports grease free sun screen but even that i couldn't actually wear all day every day. How big a thing is it and what do people do?

Comments

• noddingtonpete
    noddingtonpete Moderator Posts: 1,038
    Options

Hello @louiseeb and welcome to the Community.

I think this is a question you may need to seek medical advice on. In the meantime I've put a link in below to some frequently asked questions about methotrexate which might be of interest.

and

Please let us know how you get on.

Best wishes

Peter

Need more help? - call our Helpline on0800 5200 520Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• Rina
    Rina Member Posts: 86
    Options

Hi @louiseeb, I’ve been on hydroxychloroquine for a while and am sensitive to the sunlight. It was worse when I first started taking the meds but even now I still have to be careful. It mostly affects the tops of my feet and toes if I’m wearing sandals, my hands and my cheeks. Not my arms or legs though. I tend to cover up anyway in the summer as I’m very fair-skinned so wear a lot of cotton and linen and either socks and trainers or factor 50 suncream. I always wear a face moisturiser with at least 30 factor even in the winter but I don’t find it too greasy. I also tend to wear a hat in the summer although not always.

Rina

• Jozzie
    Jozzie Member Posts: 4
    Options

Hi Louise,

I am on both medications and have been for several years.