New to all this

Options

Hi everyone

i knocked my knee at work back in June and it’s swelled up massively and hasn’t gone back down. I’ve been through the ostio at the hospital and he’s given me a steroid with an anaesthetic in and this didn’t touch the pain at all. He’s said he’s pretty certain I will have RA, as the pain and swelling is spreading to my ankle and wrist. amd I have other symptoms which match. (Just waiting on my doctors appointment for some tests).

In the meantime. Im I’m so much pain constantly that I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night or didn’t take pain killers (which don’t help). Im 31 and I feel this is about to ruin my career (I work as a civil servant and need to be physical in my job daily). Im really struggling mentally with the thought of work saying I’m medically inefficient. I don’t know how I’ll support my son (4) as I’ve just bought a house by myself.

sorry for the moan. Any advice on any thing would really help cause I don’t really know what to do or who to turn to. Plus reading it all on the internet is terrifying

Comments

• Poppyjane
    Poppyjane Moderator Posts: 763
    Options

Hello @georgiesaul welcome to the online community,

Never apologise for a moan. We are here to support you on good and bad days ( or nights judging from the time of your post). We are a friendly group here to support those affected by living with arthritis.

Like many of us who live with constant pain the worries and questions loom much larger in the middle of the night when you are exhausted and cannot get any relief. There are lots of members tips and suggestions on how to ease this nocturnal problem.