Newbie here - looking for knee OA injections info

Options

Hello all,

Newbie here. I am 62, London based, and have patellafemoral osteoarthritis in both knees. Before considering partial/full knee replacements, I am trying to find out more about nStride and Arthrosamid knee injections and whether they are worth it.

I have already had Hyaluronic Acid (Durolane) injections in 2020 to no effect. I went to the RJAH in Oswestry in 2022 to see about Autologous Chondrocyte Implantation but was told no because I was too old and now had the start of OA.

I am leaning towards Arthrosamid. Any relevant personal experience/info is most welcome.

Thanks!

Comments

• TroutFisher
    Options

Hi Grubber, Thought I’d be having a new knee after recent increased pain because of OA in right knee. However consultant examined X-rays of 14 months ago and recent xray and said there hadn’t been much deterioration so gave me steroid injection. Didn’t go into details but has made a big positive change for the better.

Previously used to get pain for last year or so when I stood up after sitting down for any length of time. That pain has disappeared. Don’t know how long injections last but results seem to vary according to different people.

• grubber
    grubber Member Posts: 8
    Options

TroutFisher - thanks for kindly posting about your steroid injection, I hope things go well for you.

In addition to the bilateral Hyaluronic Acid injections, I have also tried over separate periods of months:

Glucosamine and Chondroitin tablets

Omega 3 with Collagen tablets

Turmeric tablets

Sadly none of them appeared to have any beneficial effect for me.

A South African mate of mine takes a liquid collagen supplement. He says he does feel a difference if he doesn't take it for a few days. It is not available in the UK. I'm still unsure about it myself.