Needing Surgery for a new hip and two new knees!

Hello I am a newbie asking for some advice , I have been on the waiting list for 65 plus weeks now to have a THR to my left hip the top of the waiting list is 70 plus weeks. I have a BMI of over 40 my motability and mental health is so low now coping with constant pain . I have also been told now that I am Anemic and need to have a Iron infusion before the operation, I was always a busy person now my days are spent in bed or sat in the chair because things are so bad . Is there anyone here that has had a THR that have had a high BMI and could tell me how they got one please once having the surgery please.

Comments

• Naomi33
    Naomi33 Moderator Posts: 410

Hello @ozzy62 and welcome to the online community.

Sorry to hear you concerns regarding hip replacement the following link may be of help....

Please keep posting and I am sure others will connect with you shortly.

Best wishes @Naomi33

Need more help? - call our Helpline on 0800 5200 520 Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm

• dianafox
    dianafox Member Posts: 2

I'm sorry to hear about the challenges you're facing and the long wait for your total hip replacement (THR). It's understandable that this situation is taking a toll on your physical and mental well-being.

While I cannot provide direct experiences from individuals with a high BMI who have undergone THR, I can offer some general advice and considerations:

1. Consult with your healthcare team: Discuss your concerns and challenges with your healthcare providers, including your orthopedic surgeon. They can provide personalized advice based on your specific health condition and circumstances.
    2. Addressing High BMI: It's not uncommon for healthcare professionals to recommend weight loss before joint replacement surgery, as a lower BMI can reduce the risk of complications and enhance the success of the surgery. Your healthcare team may provide guidance on a safe and effective weight loss plan.