Musicians with arthritis

Options

Hi, I thought I should ask if there are any professional musicians in this group who are struggling with arthritis.

I'm a pianist, 63 years old and have been diagnosed with Serogenative IA . My whole body is in pain and when I have flares up it's awfull and I'm extremely tired. My fingers are not much affected although they can become quite stiff at times, I can still play but am no more as flexible. Sitting at the piano does cause stiffness in my leg joints, so I can't sit more than 10 min. at a time. My elbows are also painfull. I'm so scared of being unable to play in the near future. Music is my life!

Since last September, I'm on methotrexate, adalimadub injections, sulafazaline and take painkillers every 6 hours. I had to stop steroids as I now have otosporosis in my lower back. I'm on my 11th injection and the treatment doesn't seem to work. I really don't know where I'm going.

If there are any musicians here, I would be very grateful to hear about their experience.

Thank you.

Comments

• PJoanne
    PJoanne Moderator Posts: 40
    Options

Hello @pianoforte , I'm not a musician but just wanted to drop by to say sorry you are experiencing this pain. The forum is here to listen and support so keep posting and I'm sure that there will be others here who can relate.

• Skinny Keef
    Skinny Keef Member Posts: 1,012
    Options

Hi @pianoforte

I am a musician and multi instrumentalist.

I have osteo and inflammatory arthritis that makes playing quite challenging. I can no longer stand with a bass or guitar so playing live is no longer possible. Sitting is a little better but I am limited in the amount of time as the longer I sit in one position the worse the pain in my lower back and neck gets.

Fortunately it hasn’t so far affected my hands too much.