About to start on biologic adalimumab

Options

Hello

I’m new to group (55F). Diagnosed with RA and fibromyalgia before Xmas. Have tried Methotrexate, Sulfasalazine and Leflunomide but all either elevated liver or awful side effects. I can tolerate and am still take hydroxychloroquine. NHS will start biologic in few weeks (adalimumab) and I’m very nervous! Worried about side effects and immune system. Maybe because I’ve had so many fails I’m scared this will be no better, and the pain and uncertainty are making me a little anxious! Anyone let me know their experience of this medication please. Thank you

Comments

• Ellen
    Ellen Moderator Posts: 1,628
    Options

Hello @Sample welcome to the online community.

I see you are about to start taking Adalimumab and are understandably anxious having tried several other medications already without success.

I will not bother you with information about the drug as l am sure you will already have been supplied with that by your rheumatology team, but have done a 'search' for you for recent posts which should be relevant:

One of our 'regular' posters @jamieA takes the same medication and may be able to give you some reassurance.

Do keep posting and let us know how you get on

Best wishes

Ellen.

• jamieA
    jamieA Member Posts: 711
    Options

Hi @Sample

I know we are all different in how we react to our health issues and the treatments we receive so can only offer my experience. When I developed psoriatic arthritis rapidly in late 2020 I was initially put onto sulfasalazine which didn't work. The medics added MTX 3 months later and the combination didn't work. Nine months after the diagnosis the adalimumab biosimilar Amgevita was added. Within 3 weeks I could feel a difference and after 2 months I was able to hand back the elbow crutches I'd needed to let me walk. For the past couple of years I've been able to walk my dog 50-60kms a week - albeit with a limp as my left knee was damaged during that first year.