Hi Community Palindromic Arthritis

Options
IbB511001
IbB511001 Member Posts: 2
edited 23. Mar 2024, 11:59 in Living with arthritis

I have recently had a diagnosis of Palindromic Arthritis that affects various joints, principally places I have old injuries from rugby!, and my breathing. This came about following a bout of COVID although it has never been directly linked.

I am new to all of this and looking for advice and to share experience.

I am 64 and working, although I have recently cut my days to three a week. Any links

and advice welcome.

regards Ian

Comments

• jamieA
    jamieA Member Posts: 711
    Options

Hi @IbB511001

Ian I don't have any knowledge or advice I can give regarding Palindromic Rheumatism but having read this and your other recent post I was struck by the similarities with me. It's reckoned by medics that I had covid in March 2020 aged 64 and then suffered about 10 chest infections in the following 12 months - including 3 bouts of pneumonia. In September 2020 my left knee ballooned up and by October I was diagnosed with Psoriatic Arthritis - I'd had psoriasis since the age of 15. There are quite a few peer reviewed medical papers that link covid and inflammatory arthritis. I suppose since both involve your immune system that's logical.

One piece of advice I would offer is don't be a passenger in your treatment - you need to be as assertive as you can be. I'd never had a chronic illness before this and just assumed everything would click into place regarding my treatment. Sadly that wasn't the case initially - though it's far better now.

I hope you get the treatment you need quickly.

• SNapCrackle_Pop
    Options