PsA, biologics and managing symptoms

Options

Hi

This is my first time of posting…..diagnosed with PsA 2021 - had psoriasis since age 15 (am now 61) but had had no symptoms since my late 30’s. Three months after contracting Covid early 2020, had the worst skin flare up of my entire life and pains in feet, hands, wrists, elbow, lower back, knee, shoulders and neck which was diagnosed as PsA after about 6 months. Commenced on sulfasalzine and oral methotrexate, no response. Next oral switched to injectable 25mg weekly - no response. Added in adalibumab (Yuflyma) in Jan 24 - currently no response. Only time I feel relief is when on steroids - have had three oral courses since Dec 23, last one completed just over a week ago and all pain back 🥺. Awaiting appt to see my rheumatologist- I have called 3 times to chase and have been assured should see her in the next week - will be back on the phone first thing Monday.
Feeling quite low as am off work with symptoms - first time since diagnosis, and was so hopeful that biologics would ‘sort my aching body out’!! Feel like my life has been upended as unable to do/enjoy all the things I was before this happened. I meditate and have started to try yoga again and went for a walk around the block today, pushing through the pain….bit also not sure if that is a good thing to do?
just wondered if others have had to try a series of biologics to get disease under some sort of control and do people have repeated steroid doses? Sorry for the long splurge but I feel a little lost at the moment.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Sarah

Comments

• LouLouCeCe
    LouLouCeCe Member Posts: 17
    Options

hello Sarah

I’m sorry to hear you’re struggling. I’ve just started biological yesterday, so am at the fingers crossed stage.