New here

Options
pagirl
pagirl Member Posts: 4
edited 17. Nov 2008, 05:39 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all

Just discovered this forum & hoping to get some advice & help.

I was diaghnosed with PA in July this year.Last year I had some patches of psorasis come up on my scalp but they did not bother me a lot so thought little of it. In April I had a horrible virus that made me ache all over & then a few days later one of the toes on my left swelled up. I did everything to get it down. Eventually I went to the doctor in sheer frustration as I could not wear loads of my shoes & I had this awful stiffness in my thighs, legs hands & feet.He tested me for gout initialyy but I was pretty certain it was not that & I was of course right.

I then asked for a referral as I have private insurance to a Rheumatologist. He diagnosed PA & injected my toe with steroid as luckily I had suffered no joint damage.

I must tell you right off I do not believe in drugs. I am an ex nurse & know what goes on & believe that doctors are very tunnel visioned about drugs. I have proved that you can beat something without medication as in January I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes & much against my GPs will I refused all drug therapy & treated myself with alternative therapy, maily supplements & herbal remedies & also cahnging my diet considerably & loosing nearly 3 stone in weight. I am now glucose intolerant & have reverted all my blood glucose levels back to normal.

Of course the Rheumatologist tried to push me onto steroids which I refused beacuse for one thing it would undo all I have done with the diabetes & only give me other problems.