could my artificial speaking aid cause RSI?

eilean1
eilean1 Member Posts: 12
edited 29. Nov 2008, 18:12 in Living with Arthritis archive
Three years ago I had my voicebox removed becaue of throat cancer and I speak with an effective, if rather monotonous, electro larynx (EL) . This particular make is a Servox. I will draw a veil over the whole business apart from saying that it totally changed my lifestyle as I am a freelance journalist and can no longer speak effectively on the phone for interviewing as it sounds very distorted unless face to face. But as the months have passed my acceptance and self confidnce have increased.
Then last month, October 6 to be exact, the day before I was going to America for the first time, arthritis struck for the first time ever. I was totally crippled down my right side, and on the left side most joints were affected, I won't go into the pain. Youi all know about it but I was totally unprepared. The very worst thing is that I hold the EL with my left hand. It has very sensitive buttton controls connecting with my throat imoulses--too complicated t explain, but that's how I modulate and operate and communicate. And feel part of the human race and can discuss more than the price of fish!
I always used the EL a lot. It is my lifelinre with normality if youu like, and my family and friends are used to it and accept it; I am used to the strange looks I get in shops where they don't know me.
But now, on, desperatelty worrying, days like today, I find it impossible to use the EL.