Another Newbie here

Options
jenny68
jenny68 Member Posts: 8
edited 23. Feb 2009, 18:23 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi,

I'm Jen and I've just been diagnosed with OA in my left wrist/hand, and I'm left handed. I'd had carpal tunnel syndrome in my left hand for a number of years and it got so bad that it was constantly splinted so I had the op last April. During the op the surgeon muttered something about arthritis but I was in too much of a state to take it in, I just remember hearing the word. It took a few months for things to settle down again. Then in December whilst on holiday in Oz my hand was hurting again, the aircon in the car seemed to be making it sore. Since I came home at the start of Jan I've had nothing but trouble. The cold makes it really painful and I get grouchy and could just cry with the pain. It even hurts holding my hymn book in church despite being back to splinting it again.

I'm 41 which I thought was young for OA and live on the NE Coast of Scotland. Oh and I'm an artist so it's not really a diagnosis I wanted.

Comments

• eckstardeluxe
    eckstardeluxe Member Posts: 1,192
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options