Contractures and RA

Options
debatat
debatat Member Posts: 659
edited 23. Mar 2009, 17:48 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all, me again!! :lol:

I forgot to mention in my other post, the rheumy said today I have a contracture (?) in my hand and it is common in RA. That is why I have the lump in my palm which is a soft tissue swelling?

Does anyone know anymore about this? Will the steroids help with this as well?

Would be grateful for any info as I am very new to arthritis and the problems it causes, although I am still shocked at the damage it can do in such a short space of time :shock:

Thanks again

Deb

Comments

• elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    It is called Dupuytren contracture and initially may cause only a minor painless lump in the palm of the hand near the base of the finger(s). The ring finger, is mostly affected but it can affect any and all fingers and can also affect one or both hands.

As it progresses, it can lead to an inability to fully extend the affected finger(s) from the flexed position. This can result in a loss of normal grasping.

Dupuytren contracture is seldom associated with much pain unless the affected fingers are inadvertently forcefully hyperextended.

Hope this helps.

Elna
    The happiest people don't have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

If you can lay down at night knowing in your heart that you made someone's day just a little bit better, you know you had a good day.
  • jackie1955
    jackie1955 Member Posts: 632
    Options
    mmm, I have this on my left hand.

My ring finger bends towards the palm, and if you follow it down to the palm there is a lump. The lmp was initially very painful, as was the finger if I moved it! However the pain has gone, and some days the finger is more bent than others!

Also have noticed a similar lump beginning on palm at base of index finger :(