About to be diagnosed

Options
mystic
mystic Member Posts: 6
Hey,

I'm new to this so please bear with me lol.

I have been undergoing testing for a number of months now. The entire problem started in my wrist, and within a few months I was unable to really walk, get up out of my seat, and was in constant pain all over my body in almost every joint.
I am on my last stage of tests now...a steroid injection to see how it effects my body. I was told if it works (Which it is) I have Rheumatoid Arthritis.

I'm petrified. I'm 25 and am in complete and utter shock. The stress of having to wait so long for a diagnosis is taking its toll on me mentally and the constant pain physically. And also have the DWP on my back trying to force me into work when I can hardly move and before I officially know whats wrong (But thats another story).

There are so many questions I want answering but no one can tell me until they 'know whats wrong' and my GP says she isn't trained enough to go into detail, but there are months in between my RA consultant appointments. But the prospect of knowing this can progress and become worse, effect more than just the joints etc is a terrifying thought. All I have at the moment is what I have read online.

I know RA is the immune system attacking the body. My worry at the moment is I am coming down with what seems to be a bad cold.

Does anyone know how this will effect me with pain. Obviously colds make the immune system stronger to fight the cold but does this mean I will be in more pain? (All I am on at the moment are strong painkillers. No immune suppressing tablets etc.)

Regards

Mystic

Comments

• helpline_team
    helpline_team Posts: 3,494
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hi Mystic