wrist replacement, fusion or carpectomy, advice needed

lorriewr
lorriewr Member Posts: 5
Hiya, im new to this and have been reading about this topic with much interest!

After a fall 6yrs ago which crushed seven bones; several operations and joint rebuilding has failed. Severe arthritis has set in!
Now, I have to consider either
1 Carpectomy,
2 Resurfacing Capitate Pyrocarbon Implant,
3 fusion
4 a wrist replacement.

I would appreciate any advice from anyone who has gone through these procedures. I am 52 yrs old.

many thanks
Lorraine

Comments

• lavenderlady
    lavenderlady Member Posts: 409
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Lorraine my left wrist is badly damaged with arthritis, the camera could not get in last month and fusion was ruled out as the whole wrist could only be helped by a TWR today I ahd to go back for the dye in the joint for x ray and scans to be done but as she tried to find a gap in the joint she had to pyisically push hard to finally get some dye in, her view was shes never seen it so bad and was amazed I had coped with it so was delighted to find Iris had had her wrist done last week , I've been given lists of side affects including the joint coming apart and will need it redoing and also it might need further work if it works lose and of course infection etc , but i know that I dont have the choices you have and only a TWR could help with the pain, I do at one point remember saying to my Rhumatologist , just cut the damn hand and wrist off to get rid of the pain and I'm sure others can agree with being that low, maybe its easier with no choice but only you can decide what your best choice is, good luck and I'm sure others can help you with that big decision on here,
  • speedalong
    speedalong Member Posts: 3,315