Disability Advisor advice

scozzie
scozzie Member Posts: 333
Hi all,

Had a tough day at work again yesterday, this week I'm on back shift and seconded to our sister company - which usually means tough, heavy repetitive work - which is exactly what happened last night! Six hours of feeding a machine running a full speed, even though I was given assistance, the two of us were flat out! As a consequence my left hand is not happy, not overly sore, just swollen - I can't straighten or fully bend my index finger on my left hand. And when I woke up during the night, I found I was unable to fully clench/close my left hand - I am able to fully clench/close my right hand, but with no pressure. Both thumbs avera re and stiff! Btw I work for a small company of less than 20 employees!

Anyway, as a result of this I've made an appointment for tomorrow to see a Disability Advisor to see what my options are. I can't keep going like this, and I'm only new to this blasted disease!

Is there anything I need to know, should ask, things I should take with me? I'm not expecting to be put forward for DLA, as I don't consider myself to be at that stage.

Although having said that I recently discovered that my asthma means I'm considered as disabled - much to my surprise (except when I'm recovering from a cold/flu).

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Sorry scozzie, I can't help on this; have you looked on the Working Matters forum? There may be summat about it on there. I have asthmna too but would never class myself as disabled because of it - mind you when I was a child I would as it greatly affected my life (this was in the pre-inhaler days). Good luck, I hope they can help you in some way. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,336
    Oh poor Scozzie :sad: