Methotrexate and a question about DLA

kerry2012
kerry2012 Member Posts: 7
edited 1. Oct 2012, 14:34 in My child has arthritis
my lil boy has only been on metotrexate only 4-5 weeks but he has started to be sick alot its not huge amount of sick just a little bit here and there about 5 times yesterdai also he gets quite stiff in the night and used to wake up alot due to being in pain but since he had his steriod injections he started to sleep through but now he is waking up again last night he woke up about 6-8 times and he just crying i was wondering if this had something to do with the metotrexate? i do have norwich hospital on monday for a check up with him just wondering if anyone had any problems like this? sorry to ask but i am new to it all my lil boy s only 14 months old.

also DLA the hospital told me i could claim for this i claimed back in june and we are still waiting on a answer but i hav seen alot of people haven't been able to claim just wondering if the majority of people do get it or not, the dla said they are waiting for a report from the doctors.

thanks kerry

Comments

• fowls48
    fowls48 Member Posts: 1,357
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Dear Kerry

I'm really sorry to hear this, your poor baby boy bless his heart .I am 48 and only been on methetrexate for about 5 months they have given me folic acid to take the day after the meth which is supposed to help with the sickness i did feel nauseaus at first but seem to have settled down .
    My friend said to eat lots of carbs on meth day and i try to eat alot of pasta on the day after to help with my tummy .I'm sorry i cannot help you any more . but i do sympahize with you .
    Do not worry somebody else will be along shortly to help .

Take Care
    Fowls
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi Kerry,