jaw involvement?

ouchpotato
ouchpotato Member Posts: 453
edited 29. Jun 2013, 03:54 in Living with Arthritis archive
I just got back from the dentist, who took a cast of my teeth so she can make a mouth guard for me to wear at night. I was aware that I clench my jaw at night because I wake up with an aching face every morning, but it is apparent on my teeth too she said. She also took x rays of both sides. I have to go back next week for the guard and the results of the x rays. No dentists has ever mentioned this before, and I know I have been doing this for the past six months to a year. Is this connected to an inflammatory arthritis do you think or something totally coincidental and separate? Does anyone else suffer from this?

x

Comments

• barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi
    I do remember someone on a while ago that said something on the same lines, I will see if I can find it for you...but Im not sure if its connected to inflammatory arthritis...strange but I have always been a teeth grinder and my dentist has never mentioned it..so its good they have picked upon it for you xx
    Love
    Barbara
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    My husband is a teeth-grinder and that is entirely due to work and two-maternal-deaths-stress. It's no wonder that you are clenching your jaw, surely it's a normal enough reaction to continued pain and difficulty, the tension will be manifest somewhere and in your case it's there.

I don't clench my jaw but I do wake in the night (I'm a side-sleeper) with my head right back, my chin pointing towards the ceiling. :roll: DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    ouchpotato wrote:
    Is this connected to an inflammatory arthritis do you think or something totally coincidental and separate? Does anyone else suffer from this?

x