I think I need help

hedgehogrose
hedgehogrose Member Posts: 4
edited 1. Sep 2013, 15:00 in Living with Arthritis archive
I am 40 years old and my problems started not long after my 40th birthday. It started with a pain in my left hand which soon spread to the little finger on that hand. The first GP I saw said it was RSI. Now I have been doing data input for over 20 years with no issues so I didn't believe her. The problems persisted and eventually spread to my left thumb. Anyway to cut a long story short I have now seen a rheumatologist who has said it's inflammatory arthritis. He prescribed sulfasalazine and basically sent me on my way.

Now, he did ask if I had psoriasis to which I said no. On reflection I realised that I did and have mentioned this to my GP and all she did was prescribe steroid cream.

My problem is that I feel that I have been told I have this life changing affliction but nobody wants to help me. On top of this my mum has been admitted to a local hospital and I have no idea how long she will be there for. So not only am I dealing with my health I am also dealing with my mums. My husband has been a rock but I feel guilty that I am laying all this on him.

Then today I cracked. I walked out of work after 2 hours and promptly broke down on the phone to hubby and when people started staring at me because I was crying I screamed at them to mind their own business.

I need help and I really don't know what to do. Can I ask for a different rheumatologist (and how do I know if he is a good one?) Can I get counselling? Can I claim benefits?

Please help me because I feel like I am losing my mind.

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, it's nice to meet you but I am so, so sorry you have had to find us. I am seventeen years in with my Life With Arthritis and yes, things have changed but then they would anyway, that is the nature of life.